Why red lentil is prohibited?

Red lentil popularly known as Masoor dal grown in various parts of India. Due to its tamasic nature red lentil is not considered in Sattvic diet.

Masoor dal is prohibited since it is a tamasic meal, it is same as non-vegetarian, onion, garlic foods. You must be familiar with the Hindu food regimen in order to comprehend this. The ancient diet plan was created using information about people’s occupations.

Numerous Hindu beliefs are connected to eating. Certain things should be avoided, according to the scriptures, only “satvik bhojan” should be consumed by the yogis. Satvik bhojan is thought to aid in improving their ability to concentrate and meditate.

Even the average person should choose “satvik bhojan” over “tamsik bhojan.” “Satvik” meal is straightforward and uncomplicated to digest. It is straightforward and prepared with little heat. Since it does not need substantial processing, it is typically the most similar to the food item’s original state. ‘Satvik’ cuisine is typically consumed fresh and right after after preparation.

A “Tamasik” diet consists of unnatural, overdone, stale, and processed food. Consequently, processed food, such as cereals, oils, hydrogenated butter, stimulants, and beverages like tea, coffee, and soft drinks, as well as quick and ready-to-cook food items like burgers, pizzas, pastries, and chocolates.

Masoor dal, together with onions and garlic, is referred to as “tamsik bhojan.” Masoor dal is thought to be connected to Kamdhenu’s blood. She is a supernatural cow who grants her owner any wish, according to Hindu legend. Kamdhenu was supposedly with Rishi Jamadagni, according to a story. Sahastrarjun once confronted Kamdhenu with arrows while attempting to take her. It’s thought that the mansoor plant grew from blood.

Leave a Comment